FST Advisory Board

Active Advisory Board Members

Julianne Wood Rethwill

Julianne Wood Rethwill, M.S., Chair

Retired Director, New Business Development
Johnson & Johnson family of companies


Julianne is an OSU Food Science alumni and recipient of the OSU 2020 Alumni Fellow award representing the College of Agricultural Sciences. She is retired from a 30-year career in research, new business development and international marketing with consumer, prescription and industrial product companies.
Learn more about Julianne...

Jade Aguilar 
Director of Research Equity, ECONorthwest

Dr. Jade Aguilar is a practitioner-scholar with a deep understanding of institutional and systemic factors that create and promote social inequities. 
Learn more about Jade...

Scott Butler

Scott Butler 
Consultant and Coach to the Food Industry

Scott Butler is an experienced executive with a demonstrated history in the food & beverage industry.
Learn more about Scott...

Image of Sarah Beaubien, a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Sarah Beaubien

Sustainability Impact, Clif Bar

An avid skier, snowboarder, mountain biker, rafter, and life adventurer, Sarah has grown up in the outdoors. She also enjoys exploring the local Oregon food scene, cooking, pickleball, traveling, and spending time with her family.  
Learn more about Sarah...

Emily Darchuk

Emily Darchuk
CEO and Founder, Wheyward Spirits

Wheyward Spirit brings the natural food ethos into the spirit category delivering a truly innovative spirit where consumers can taste a difference and make a difference. Balancing her roles as both a scientist and consumer, Emily perfected her signature spirit and line extensions through years of work, carefully crafting the recipe while she mastered the distillation process hands-on, producing a first of its kind farm-to-flask specialty spirit.
Learn more about Emily...

Image of David Gremmels, a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

David Gremmels

Founder, Rogue Creamery
Founder, CHURN


David Gremmels is the Founder of Rogue Creamery, an artisan cheese company that produces the blue and cheddar cheese. He is a leader in promoting and supporting American cheese and specialty foods, sustainable, regenerative, and organic agriculture.
Learn more about David...

Image of Dave Lundahl, Ph.D., a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Dave Lundahl, Ph.D.

Founder, InsightsNow, Inc.

Dr. Lundahl founded InsightsNow, Inc. in 2003, with a vision and passion for integrating sensory and behavioral science to deepen consumer insights.
Learn more about Dave...

Image of Kurt McKnight, a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Kurt McKnight

Co-owner, Ever Fresh Fruit Company

Kurt and his sister LeAnn Miller are second-generation owners of Ever Fresh Fruit Company, proudly known as the top research and development/manufacturing company in the dairy and bakery industry.  
Learn more about Kurt...

Image of Paul Meade, a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Paul Meade

Chief Financial Officer, Columbia Distributing

As Columbia Distributing's CFO, Paul leads finance and business service divisions for one of the nation's largest distributors of beer, cider and non-alcoholic beverages.  
Learn more about Paul...

Craig Ostbo

Founder and CEO, Oh! Strategic Branding

As Founder and CEO of  located in Portland, Oregon, Craig has provided strategic direction for numerous consumer product brands, including: Bob’s Red Mill Natural Foods, Kettle Chips, Kroger’s Naturally Preferred brand, Franz Bakery, Beaverton Foods, Rogue Creamery, and Smucker Natural Foods to name a few. 
Learn more about Craig...

Joth Ricci

FST Board Member
Joth Ricci is an alum of the OSU College of Education ('91), a past president of the OSU Alumni Association board and was recently honored in 2023 as an Alumni Fellow.

Learn more about Joth...

Gary Roth
Executive Director, Oregon Potato Commission

Gary Roth is Executive Director of the Oregon Potato Commission, an agricultural commodity commission formed in 1949 to represent the potato industry in educational, trade development, research, legislative affairs, and public relations initiatives.  
Learn more about Gary...

Image of Chris Sarles, a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Chris Sarles

President/CEO, Oregon Fruit Products

Chris Sarles retired as CEO of Oregon Fruit Products in 2022 after 8 years of successfully growing and repositioning the 88-year-old company. Prior to Oregon Fruit Products Chris spent 25 years in the alcohol beverage industry.
Learn more about Chris...

Image of Grant Schoenhard, Ph.D., a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Grant Schoenhard, Ph.D.


Dr. Schoenhard is an OSU Food Science and Technology alumni and recipient of the 2019 CAS Distinguished Alumni Luminary Award. His expansive career includes academia, industry, and currently as a professional consultant.   
Learn more about Grant...

Image of Larry Sidor, a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Larry Sidor

Founder, Master Brewer, CEO, Crux Fermentation Project

Larry is an OSU Food Science alumni. He has extensive experience in the brewing industry where he has brewed and manufactured millions of barrels of beer during his career, and is currently crafting small batch unique beers at Crux Fermentation Project.  
Learn more about Larry...

Image of Sam Tannahill, a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Sam Tannahill

Founder and Wine Grower, A to Z Wineworks

Sam currently serves on the Oregon Business Council and is co-chair/co-founder of the Oregon Food and Beverage Leadership Council. His winery, A to Z Wineworks, leads sustainability in the wine industry and became one of the few LIVE certified wineries in the world.  
Learn more about Sam...

Dan Voit

Dan Voit
CEO Blentech Corporation

Daniel Voit is a technical and business leader with demonstrated results and more than 25 years of experience in the leadership of engineering and manufacturing for innovative food processing technologies.  
Learn more about Dan...

Communicating Advisory Board Members

Image of Paul Arbuthnot, a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Paul Arbuthnot

Retired President, Sunshine Dairy Foods

In partnership with OSU dairy foods extension, Paul and Sandy Arbuthnot established the Arbuthnot Dairy Center at OSU. Paul has been an unfailing supporter of FST students.
Learn more about Paul...

Image of Rebecca Field, a member of the Food Science and Technology Advisory Board

Rebecca Field


Rebecca is an OSU Business Administration graduate ('90) who recently returned to Oregon after a 27 year career in the Wireless and Food & Beverage industry.
Learn more about Rebecca...

Pete Kent

Retired, Executive Director, Oregon Dairy and Nutrition Council (ODNC)

Pete leads a team of professionals to increase domestic and international sales and positive visibility for Oregon's dairy industry, on behalf of the state's dairy farm families.
Learn more about Pete...